Equipment record

Digi IX40 5G Edge Computing Industrial IoT Solution

Gateway / router from Digi International; details below are as stated by the manufacturer.

Reviewed Sep 30, 20265 sourced facts
Work at Digi International? Suggest a correction
Digi IX40 5G Edge Computing Industrial IoT Solution product photo
Image: Digi International

Details

Exact model
IX40-05 (5G NSA/SA, LTE-Advanced Pro Cat 19)
Category
Gateway / router
Technology / network scope
4G LTE5G NR
Bands
CBRS 3.55–3.703.43.63.8GHzn48 listed among 5G NR bands (IX40-05) · CBRS and global private 5G networking
Documented uses
Manufacturing and industrial IoT
Not stated by sources
Environment · Availability

Work at Digi International?

Send a correction for this product. Official photos and datasheets are welcome by email. Use your company email and confirm it, and you’re reviewed first.

Suggest a correction

Anyone can send a correction; we check each one against its sources.

Overview

The Digi IX40 is a 5G industrial IoT (Internet of Things) router with built-in edge computing for factory automation, utilities and traffic management, in a Class 1 Division 2 rated enclosure for DIN-rail or shelf mounting.[1][2] The IX40-05 model pairs 5G (non-standalone and standalone) with LTE-Advanced Pro Category 19 fallback and offers four Gigabit Ethernet ports, two SFP sockets, serial and analog/digital I/O.[2] Digi lists support for CBRS (Citizens Broadband Radio Service) and private 5G, with n48 and Band 48 in its band lists, and sells it with Digi 360 cloud management, warranty and customer care.[1][2]

Specifications

Cellular

Modem
5G NSA and SA with LTE-Advanced Pro Category 19 and 3G fallback; supports up to two 5G SA carrier components, subject to operator support[2]
5G NR bands
27 bands, including n48 (CBRS), n41, n77, n78 and n79; Digi also lists C-band[2]
LTE bands
27 bands, including B2, B4, B12, B13, B14 (FirstNet), B66, B71 and Band 48 (CBRS)[2]
Antennas
Two or four 50-ohm SMA cellular connectors and one SMA GNSS connector[2]
SIM and eSIM
Two nano (4FF) SIM slots with a cover plate; optional 2FF Digi eSIM accessory for remote carrier switching[2]
Not publicly stated
Peak throughput

Interfaces

Ethernet and SFP
Four Gigabit Ethernet RJ-45 ports configurable as WAN or LAN, plus two 1 Gb SFP sockets[2]
Serial and I/O
One DB-9 RS-232/422/485 port; two digital I/O and two analog inputs (0–10 V or 4–20 mA)[2]
GNSS
L1 GNSS for GPS, GLONASS, BeiDou and Galileo with passive or active antennas; NMEA and TAIP output[2]
Wi-Fi
None listed[2]

Physical and environmental

Form factor
Glass-filled polyphenylene sulphide enclosure rated IP30, DIN-rail or shelf mount; 234 x 154 x 41 mm (9.21 x 6.06 x 1.61 in); 1.14 kg[1][2]
Operating temperature
-40 °C to 75 °C (-40 °F to 167 °F); cellular performance may drop above 70 °C[2]
Hazardous locations
Class 1 Division 2 certified[2]

Power

Input and consumption
12–30 VDC on a screw-down terminal block; 3.5 W idle, 4.5 W light traffic, 8 W peak data[2]

Certifications

Carriers
PTCRB, AT&T, FirstNet Capable, T-Mobile and Verizon[2]
Regulatory and security
FCC Part 15 Subpart B, ISED, CE, RED and UKCA; UL 62368-1 and CB scheme; FIPS 140-3[2]
FCC Band 48 authorization
The OnGo Alliance's list of FCC-authorized Band 48 end-user devices includes the Digi IX40 5G under FCC ID RI7FN990A28 (entry dated December 20, 2022)[3]
OnGo certification
Not found on the OnGo Alliance's certified-device list (checked October 1, 2026)[4]

Management and computing

Management
Digi Remote Manager through Digi 360, SNMP v1/v2c/v3 and SMS; local web UI and CLI; packet capture for Wireshark and Syslog logging[1][2]
Value-added services
DANI network operations, Digi Containers and Digi WAN Bonding for 5G/LTE aggregation and failover[1]
Compute
1.6 GHz quad-core i.MX 8M Plus (Arm Cortex-A53); 1 GB RAM and 8 GB flash[2]
Warranty
Three years, extendable through Digi 360 extensions or renewals[2]

What’s included

  • Router with Digi 360; Digi states that accessories are not included, and recommends a separate starter kit (76002147) with a 30 W power supply and four wideband cellular antennas[2]

Public pricing

  • Digi does not publish a list price on its product or model pages; the IX40 is sold through Digi and its partners with Digi 360, with 1-, 3- and 5-year renewals and 2- and 4-year extensions listed (checked October 1, 2026).[1][2]

Documents

Vendor

Sources

Researched Oct 1, 2026. Manufacturer and vendor statements are their claims, not independent tests.

  1. Digi IX40 5G Edge Computing Industrial IoT Solution — Digi International. Accessed Oct 1, 2026.
  2. IX40-05: Digi IX40 — 5G with LTE-Advanced Pro Cat 19 4x4 and 3G fallback — Digi International. Accessed Oct 1, 2026.
  3. FCC-Authorized End User Devices — OnGo Alliance. Accessed Oct 1, 2026.
  4. OnGo Certified Devices — OnGo Alliance. Accessed Oct 1, 2026.

Every detail in the table at the top comes from these sources. Open the source details for each fact’s publisher, evidence type, date, and where it appears.

Source details (5)
SOURCEExact model

IX40-05 (5G NSA/SA, LTE-Advanced Pro Cat 19)

Digi International ↗Manufacturer informationLocation in source: Specifications > CellularChecked Sep 30, 2026Source date: not stated

SOURCETechnology

5G and LTE

Digi International ↗Manufacturer informationLocation in source: OverviewChecked Sep 30, 2026Source date: not stated

SOURCEBands

n48 listed among 5G NR bands (IX40-05) · CBRS and global private 5G networking

Digi International ↗Manufacturer informationLocation in source: Specifications > Cellular > IX40-05 / Feature bullets (top of page)Checked Sep 30, 2026Source date: not stated

SOURCEDocumented Use

manufacturing and industrial IoT

Digi International ↗Manufacturer informationLocation in source: OverviewChecked Sep 30, 2026Source date: not stated

SOURCEProduct category

Gateway / router

Digi International ↗Private5G.com classificationLocation in source: Product page overviewChecked Sep 30, 2026Source date: not stated