Carnegie Mellon University (CMU) Living Edge Lab
JMA Wireless ↗Vendor case studyLocation in source: News article, first paragraphChecked Sep 30, 2026Source date: not stated
Reported deployment
A JMA Wireless case study; outcomes are vendor-reported and not independent measurements.
Involved in this project? Suggest a correctionInvolved in this project?
Correct the details, or tell us what has changed since it was reported. Use your company email and confirm it, and you’re reviewed first.
Suggest a correctionAnyone can send a correction; we check each one against its sources.
Carnegie Mellon University's Living Edge Lab, an edge-computing research group in Pittsburgh, brought a private LTE network in CBRS (Citizens Broadband Radio Service) spectrum into service in mid-June 2021, replacing an earlier experimental network.[1] JMA Wireless supplied its XRAN virtualized RAN software and outdoor CBRS radios, a Druid Software core ran on AWS Snowball Edge, and Crown Castle deployed the antennas and fiber; JMA announced completion on September 1, 2021.[2] The lab built the network to study how network latency affects edge-native applications, after finding that commercial networks fell short for many latency-sensitive applications and were hard to see inside.[1][3] In January 2025 the lab said the campus LTE network was still in use and that its packet core had been moved to the open-source Magma platform.[3]
As reported by the sources below; not independently verified.
CMU reports a separate private 5G network at Mill 19 and an upgrade of the campus LTE packet core to Magma v1.9.[3]
JMA Wireless announces completion of the network.[2]
CMU announces the new Living Edge Lab wireless network.[1]
The CBRS network enters service in mid-June.[1]
In late 2020 the lab and partners plan an upgrade to CBRS.[1]
The lab builds its first private LTE network with Crown Castle and DT: three outdoor sites on an experimental 3.5 GHz Band 42 license.[1]
This record keeps the source's anonymous customer label and reported status. A case study does not establish current operation, reproducible performance, or independent verification.
Researched Oct 1, 2026. Manufacturer and vendor statements are their claims, not independent tests.
Every detail in the table at the top comes from these sources. Open the source details for each fact’s publisher, evidence type, date, and where it appears.
Carnegie Mellon University (CMU) Living Edge Lab
JMA Wireless ↗Vendor case studyLocation in source: News article, first paragraphChecked Sep 30, 2026Source date: not stated
Higher Education
JMA Wireless ↗Vendor case studyLocation in source: Category tags above headlineChecked Sep 30, 2026Source date: not stated
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
JMA Wireless ↗Vendor case studyLocation in source: News article, third paragraphChecked Sep 30, 2026Source date: not stated
completed
JMA Wireless ↗Vendor case studyLocation in source: News article, first paragraphChecked Sep 30, 2026Source date: not stated
edge computing research (Living Edge Lab)
JMA Wireless ↗Vendor case studyLocation in source: Summary bullets under headlineChecked Sep 30, 2026Source date: not stated
JMA Wireless; Amazon Web Services (AWS); Druid Software · Crown Castle
JMA Wireless ↗Vendor case studyLocation in source: News article, second paragraph / News article, second paragraphChecked Sep 30, 2026Source date: not stated