Equipment record

HPE Aruba Networking Private 5G

Preconfigured private-network system from HPE (Athonet); details below are as stated by the manufacturer.

Reviewed Sep 30, 20265 sourced facts
Work at HPE (Athonet)? Suggest a correction

Details

Included components
Indoor and outdoor small cell radios · 4G/5G mobile core · hardware appliance · SIMs and eSIMs · cloud-based management dashboard
Category
Complete network
Technology / network scope
4G LTE5G NR4G LTE and 5G (4G/5G small cells and a 4G/5G mobile core)
Environment
IndoorOutdoorIndoor and outdoor (small cell radios)
Not stated by sources
Configuration / variants · Bands · Availability

Work at HPE (Athonet)?

Send a correction for this product. Official photos and datasheets are welcome by email. Use your company email and confirm it, and you’re reviewed first.

Suggest a correction

Anyone can send a correction; we check each one against its sources.

Overview

HPE Aruba Networking Private 5G is Hewlett Packard Enterprise's turnkey private cellular system: HPE indoor and outdoor small cells, a 4G/5G mobile core preloaded on an HPE server appliance, SIMs and eSIMs, and a cloud-based management dashboard.[1][2] HPE launched it on June 3, 2024 as HPE Aruba Networking Enterprise Private 5G, saying a network could be set up in under 30 minutes with zero-touch provisioning and configuration wizards.[3] In the U.S. the small cells use CBRS (Citizens Broadband Radio Service) LTE Band 48 and 5G NR band n48, and HPE integrates the Federated Wireless SAS (Spectrum Access System) so customers do not deal with the SAS directly.[2] HPE's store listed the system as HPE Networking Private 5G on October 1, 2026.[4]

Specifications

Components

Small cells
Four options: 4G indoor, 4G outdoor, 5G indoor and 5G outdoor. HPE says its 5G small cells serve only 5G devices, while its 4G small cells serve both 4G and 5G devices at 4G capability.[5]
Core appliance
One or two M2000 core appliances, each an HPE ProLiant DL325 Gen11 preloaded with the combined 4G/5G core software as virtual machines; the appliance terminates radio traffic and is the on-site exit point for private 5G traffic.[2][5] See HPE Aruba Networking Private 5G Core.
SIMs
Physical SIMs or eSIMs, sold in packs of 10 and provisioned by CSV upload or in the dashboard.[2]
Management
A multi-tenant cloud dashboard with zero-touch provisioning and setup wizards, styled after HPE Aruba Networking Central; HPE describes integrating private 5G management into HPE Aruba Networking Central as its vision.[2][1]
Spectrum access
For U.S. CBRS, the turnkey option includes integration with the Federated Wireless SAS.[2]

Spectrum and devices

Bands
LTE Band 48 and 5G NR n48 (CBRS, 3.55 to 3.70 GHz) in the U.S.; HPE's August 2025 documentation says radios for n77 and n78 outside the U.S. are planned.[2]
Device requirements
Devices must support Band 48 or n48 and must not be locked to a mobile carrier.[2]
Timing
A PTP (Precision Time Protocol) grandmaster clock can be used for handoffs between radios.[5]

Capacity (as stated by HPE)

Single appliance
Up to 150 small cells and 4,000 subscribers.[5]
Redundant pair
Two appliances support up to 250 small cells and 6,000 subscribers; two are required for full redundancy.[5]
Not publicly stated
Throughput and coverage per small cell

Deployment requirements

On site
Core appliances and small cells are installed on premises alongside the existing network; the core appliance needs management, radio and service VLANs, and small cells need a management VLAN.[5]
Firewall
Port 443 for small cells to reach the SAS over HTTPS and port 4500 for the core appliance to reach HPE's cloud.[5]

Commercial terms

Purchase model
Hardware (core appliances and small cells) plus software subscriptions for small cells and devices, with 1-, 3-, 5-, 7- and 10-year terms.[5]
Options
HPE says customers can buy it as a fully integrated system from HPE or take a more tailored approach for specialized requirements, and that the core can also be used with any 3GPP-standard radio.[1]

What’s included

  • Indoor and outdoor small cell radios, a 4G/5G mobile core, a hardware appliance, SIMs and eSIMs, and a cloud-based management dashboard, according to HPE's product page.[1]
  • Integration with the Federated Wireless SAS for U.S. CBRS deployments.[2]

Documents

Vendor

Sources

Researched Oct 1, 2026. Manufacturer and vendor statements are their claims, not independent tests.

  1. HPE Aruba Networking Private 5G — Hewlett Packard Enterprise. Accessed Oct 1, 2026.
  2. Private 5G: Components (TechDocs) — Hewlett Packard Enterprise, Aug 1, 2025. Accessed Oct 1, 2026.
  3. HPE simplifies deployment of private cellular networks with launch of HPE Aruba Networking Enterprise Private 5G — Hewlett Packard Enterprise, Jun 3, 2024. Accessed Oct 1, 2026.
  4. HPE Networking Private 5G (HPE Store) — Hewlett Packard Enterprise. Accessed Oct 1, 2026.
  5. Private 5G: Design (TechDocs) — Hewlett Packard Enterprise, Apr 30, 2025. Accessed Oct 1, 2026.

Every detail in the table at the top comes from these sources. Open the source details for each fact’s publisher, evidence type, date, and where it appears.

Source details (5)
SOURCEExact model

HPE Aruba Networking Private 5G

HPE (Athonet) ↗Manufacturer informationLocation in source: Full stack solutionChecked Sep 30, 2026Source date: not stated

SOURCETechnology

4G LTE and 5G (4G/5G small cells and a 4G/5G mobile core)

HPE (Athonet) ↗Manufacturer informationLocation in source: Full stack solutionChecked Sep 30, 2026Source date: not stated

SOURCEEnvironment

Indoor and outdoor (small cell radios)

HPE (Athonet) ↗Manufacturer informationLocation in source: Full stack solutionChecked Sep 30, 2026Source date: not stated

SOURCEIncluded components

Indoor and outdoor small cell radios · 4G/5G mobile core · hardware appliance · SIMs and eSIMs · cloud-based management dashboard

HPE (Athonet) ↗Manufacturer informationLocation in source: Full stack solutionChecked Sep 30, 2026Source date: not stated

SOURCEProduct category

Complete network

HPE (Athonet) ↗Private5G.com classificationLocation in source: Product page overviewChecked Sep 30, 2026Source date: not stated