Equipment record

Cradlepoint R2100: Rooftop-Mounted 5G CBRS Mobile Router

Sold by Waveform. Gateway / router from Cradlepoint; details below are as stated by the seller.

Reviewed Sep 30, 20265 sourced factsSold by Waveform · affiliated company
Work at Ericsson Enterprise Wireless Solutions (Cradlepoint)? Suggest a correction
Cradlepoint R2100: Rooftop-Mounted 5G CBRS Mobile Router product photo
Image: Waveform

Details

Exact model
R2100
Category
Gateway / router
Technology / network scope
4G LTE5G NR5G (Sub-6 GHz, data only) with Cat 20 LTE fallback
Bands
CBRS 3.55–3.703.43.63.8GHzCBRS Band 48; Sub-6 GHz 5G
Availability
Order online · Ships in 1–2 weeksOrder from Waveform
Not stated by sources
Environment

Work at Ericsson Enterprise Wireless Solutions (Cradlepoint)?

Send a correction for this product. Official photos and datasheets are welcome by email. Use your company email and confirm it, and you’re reviewed first.

Suggest a correction

Anyone can send a correction; we check each one against its sources.

Overview

The Ericsson Cradlepoint R2100 is an exterior-mounted 5G router that puts the modem, antennas and router in one aerodynamic, IP67-rated polycarbonate housing for vehicle roofs or IoT (Internet of Things) cabinet enclosures.[1][2] It comes with Wi-Fi 6 (R2105) or without Wi-Fi (R2155) and can run as a self-contained router or as a captive 5G modem for a supported Ericsson router, powered over a single Ethernet cable or from DC.[2] Ericsson lists private cellular support including CBRS (Citizens Broadband Radio Service) Band 48 under FCC Part 96.[2]

Specifications

Cellular

Modem
Embedded 5G NR FR1 (low and mid band) and LTE Advanced Pro Category 20 modem, 3GPP Release 15 (R2105-5GB and R2155-5GB); 5G standalone (SA) and non-standalone (NSA)[2]
5G NR bands
19 bands in SA and NSA, including n48, n41, n71, n77, n78 and n79[2]
LTE bands
22 FDD bands (including B2, B4, B12, B13, B14, B66, B71) and 9 TDD bands, including Band 48; 3G fallback[2]
Peak rates (as stated)
Up to 4.14 Gbps down and 660 Mbps up[2]
Carrier aggregation
LTE-only: up to 7 downlink and 2 uplink carriers; LTE + NR (EN-DC): 1 downlink, 1 uplink[2]
MIMO, antennas and SIM
4x4 MIMO on four internal cellular antennas; two 4FF (nano) SIM slots[2]

Interfaces

Ethernet
One 2.5 Gigabit Ethernet port (LAN only) on a 380 mm non-removable shielded flat cable with an RJ45 plug[2]
Wi-Fi
R2105 only: Wi-Fi 6 (802.11ax) dual-band concurrent 2x2 MU-MIMO; in the European Union, 5 GHz Wi-Fi is limited to client mode[2]
Other ports
No Bluetooth, USB, serial or expansion ports listed[2]
GNSS
Passive GNSS sharing the internal cellular antennas[2]

Physical and environmental

Form factor
Polycarbonate housing for roof or cabinet mounting; 115 x 386 x 82 mm (4.5 x 15.7 x 3.2 in); 1.46 kg[1][2]
Outdoor ratings
IP67, IK09 impact protection and IEC 60068-2-11 salt-mist corrosion resistance[2]
Operating temperature
-30 °C to 70 °C (-22 °F to 158 °F)[2]
Vehicle ratings
E-Mark, SAE J1455 Category 2 and MIL-STD-810G shock and vibration; no rail certification listed[2]

Power

Input
Either 9–36 VDC on a 380 mm captive cable with a 4-pin Molex Micro-Fit connector, or 802.3at PoE (Power over Ethernet, 30 W Class 4); ignition sensing[2]
Consumption
R2105: 8 W idle, 14.5 W typical, 17 W heavy; R2155: 6 W idle, 10 W typical, 11.5 W heavy[2]

Certifications

Regulatory and carriers
FCC, ISED (Canada), CE and RCM; PTCRB and GCF; AT&T, T-Mobile and Verizon approvals[2]
Public safety
FirstNet Trusted, T-Mobile Connecting Heroes and Verizon Frontline Verified[2]
FIPS
FIPS 140-3 Level 1 module listed as in process, for FIPS models only[2]
FCC ID
Not listed on Ericsson's product page or data sheet[2]
OnGo listings
We did not find the R2100 on the OnGo Alliance's certified-device list or its list of FCC-authorized Band 48 end-user devices (checked October 1, 2026)[3][4]

Management and performance

Cloud management
Ericsson NetCloud Manager under a NetCloud Mobile Performance or Ruggedized IoT plan; in captive-modem mode NetCloud treats the R2100 as an internal modem of the controlling router, with no separate license[2]
Rated throughput
900 Mbps stateful firewall; 650 Mbps IPS and application-aware services; 300 Mbps point-to-point IPsec VPN; 10 concurrent VPN tunnels[2]
Edge computing
Quad-core 64-bit ARMv8 with up to 1.8 GB memory and 8 GB flash for Docker containers[2]
Warranty
Limited lifetime hardware warranty while an active NetCloud subscription is maintained[2]

What’s included

  • Router with integrated antennas; Ericsson's packages do not include an AC power supply, and a SIM is not included[2]

Public pricing

  • Ericsson does not publish a list price on its product page or data sheet; the R2100 is ordered as hardware bundled with a NetCloud Mobile Performance or Ruggedized IoT subscription in 1-, 3- or 5-year terms (checked October 1, 2026).[1][2]
  • Waveform, operated by the team behind Private5G.com, lists the R2105 (with Wi-Fi) under part number MB01-2105-5GB-GA at $2,399.99 as of October 1, 2026.[5]

Documents

Vendor

Sources

Researched Oct 1, 2026. Manufacturer and vendor statements are their claims, not independent tests.

  1. Ericsson Cradlepoint R2100 — Ericsson. Accessed Oct 1, 2026.
  2. Ericsson Cradlepoint R2100 data sheet — Ericsson, Jul 23, 2026. Accessed Oct 1, 2026.
  3. OnGo Certified Devices — OnGo Alliance. Accessed Oct 1, 2026.
  4. FCC-Authorized End User Devices — OnGo Alliance. Accessed Oct 1, 2026.
  5. Cradlepoint R2100: Rooftop-Mounted 5G CBRS Mobile Router — Waveform. Accessed Oct 1, 2026.

Every detail in the table at the top comes from these sources. Open the source details for each fact’s publisher, evidence type, date, and where it appears.

Source details (5)
SOURCEExact model

R2100

Waveform ↗Retailer listingLocation in source: Product title (H1)Checked Sep 30, 2026Source date: not stated

SOURCETechnology

5G (Sub-6 GHz, data only) with Cat 20 LTE fallback

Waveform ↗Retailer listingLocation in source: Key FeaturesChecked Sep 30, 2026Source date: not stated

SOURCEBands

CBRS Band 48; Sub-6 GHz 5G

Waveform ↗Retailer listingLocation in source: Key FeaturesChecked Sep 30, 2026Source date: not stated

SOURCEAvailability

orderable online; ship time 1-2 weeks

Waveform ↗Retailer listingLocation in source: Purchase boxChecked Sep 30, 2026Source date: not stated

SOURCEProduct category

Gateway / router

Waveform ↗Private5G.com classificationLocation in source: Product page overviewChecked Sep 30, 2026Source date: not stated