Equipment record

Ericsson Cradlepoint R920

Gateway / router from Ericsson Enterprise Wireless Solutions (Cradlepoint); details below are as stated by the manufacturer.

Reviewed Sep 30, 20265 sourced factsSold by Waveform · affiliated company
Work at Ericsson Enterprise Wireless Solutions (Cradlepoint)? Suggest a correction
Cradlepoint R920: Rugged CBRS-Ready Mobile and IoT Router product photo
Image: Waveform

Details

Exact model
Ericsson Cradlepoint R920
Category
Gateway / router
Technology / network scope
4G LTELTE (Cat 7) · 5G only via optional RX20 accessory (5G status: 5G Ready with RX20)
Bands
CBRS 3.55–3.703.43.63.8GHzBand 48 CBRS · CBRS (private cellular network: CBRS, 4G LTE)
Availability
Contact to buy · No online salesAsk Waveform
Not stated by sources
Environment

Work at Ericsson Enterprise Wireless Solutions (Cradlepoint)?

Send a correction for this product. Official photos and datasheets are welcome by email. Use your company email and confirm it, and you’re reviewed first.

Suggest a correction

Anyone can send a correction; we check each one against its sources.

Overview

The Ericsson Cradlepoint R920 is a ruggedized metal LTE router for vehicles and IoT (Internet of Things) sites, built around an embedded LTE Category 7 modem with Wi-Fi 6 and Bluetooth.[1][2] It has no embedded 5G modem: 5G or a second LTE link comes from the optional RX20 managed accessory, which adds a modular modem slot and a serial port.[1][2] Only the North American model (R920-C7A) lists CBRS (Citizens Broadband Radio Service) Band 48 for private networks; the rest-of-world model (R920-C7B) does not.[2]

Specifications

Cellular

Modem
Embedded LTE Category 7 modem, 3GPP Release 11, with WCDMA/HSPA+ fallback[2]
5G
Not embedded; Ericsson describes the R920 as 5G-ready through the RX20-MC managed accessory, with the modular modem sold separately[1][2]
LTE bands, R920-C7A (North America)
FDD B2, B4, B5, B7, B12, B13, B14, B25, B26, B66, B71; TDD B41, B42, B43 and Band 48, with FCC Part 96 CBRS support stated[2]
LTE bands, R920-C7B (rest of world)
FDD B1, B3, B7, B8, B20, B28, B32; TDD B38, B40, B41, B42, B43; no Band 48, and Ericsson lists private cellular support as not applicable[2]
Peak rates (as stated)
300 Mbps down with 2-carrier aggregation and 150 Mbps up with 2-carrier aggregation[2]
MIMO, antennas and SIM
2x2 MIMO on two SMA connectors; antennas included only with IoT packages; two 4FF (nano) SIM slots with SIM-based carrier selection[2]

Interfaces

Ethernet
Two Gigabit Ethernet ports, each switchable between LAN and WAN[2]
Wi-Fi
Wi-Fi 6 (802.11ax), dual-band concurrent 2x2 MU-MIMO; access point, client and Wi-Fi-as-WAN modes[2]
Bluetooth
Embedded Bluetooth Low Energy 5.1 with an RP-SMA antenna connector[2]
USB, GPIO and serial
One USB 2.0 Type-A port with screw lock and a 2-pin GPIO shared with the power connector; no built-in serial port, which the RX20 accessory adds[1][2]
GNSS
Active GNSS on an SMA connector: GPS, Galileo, GLONASS, BeiDou and QZSS[2]

Physical and environmental

Form factor
Ruggedized metal enclosure rated IP64; 133.6 x 121.5 x 41 mm (5.26 x 4.78 x 1.61 in); 595 g[1][2]
Operating temperature
-30 °C to 75 °C (-22 °F to 167 °F); the RX20 accessory is not supported above 70 °C[2]
Vehicle, rail and hazardous-location ratings
E-Mark, SAE J1455, EN 61373 rail vibration, MIL-STD-810G shock and vibration, and Class I Division 2[2]

Power

Input and consumption
9–36 VDC with ignition sensing; 9 W idle, 14.5 W typical, 15.2 W heavy[2]; no PoE (Power over Ethernet)[1]

Certifications

Regulatory and carriers
C7A: FCC, ISED (Canada) and PTCRB, with AT&T, T-Mobile and Verizon approvals; C7B: CE and GCF[2]
Public safety (C7A)
FirstNet Trusted, T-Mobile Connecting Heroes and Verizon Frontline[2]
FIPS
FIPS 140-3 Level 1 module listed as in process, for FIPS models only[2]
FCC ID
Not listed on Ericsson's product page or data sheet[2]
OnGo listings
We did not find the R920 on the OnGo Alliance's certified-device list or its list of FCC-authorized Band 48 end-user devices (checked October 1, 2026)[3][4]

Management and performance

Cloud management
Ericsson NetCloud Manager for the subscription term; NetCloud Mobile or Ruggedized IoT plans, with NetCloud Exchange and Advanced add-ons[2]
Rated throughput
940 Mbps stateful firewall and IPS; 200 Mbps point-to-point IPsec VPN; 20 concurrent VPN tunnels[1][2]
Edge computing
Dual-core 64-bit ARMv8 with up to 921 MB memory and 8 GB flash for Docker containers[2]
Warranty
Limited lifetime hardware warranty while an active NetCloud subscription is maintained[2]

What’s included

  • With NetCloud Mobile packages: a 3 m GPIO cable and a mounting template; Mobile packages ship without an AC power supply or antennas[2]
  • With NetCloud Ruggedized IoT packages: two cellular antennas, two Wi-Fi antennas and a 12 V power supply[2]

Public pricing

  • Ericsson does not publish a list price on its product page or data sheet; the R920 is ordered as hardware bundled with a NetCloud subscription in 1-, 3- or 5-year terms (checked October 1, 2026).[1][2]
  • Waveform, operated by the team behind Private5G.com, lists the R920 under part number MA03-0920-C7B-GA at $1,245.00 as of October 1, 2026.[5] In Ericsson's ordering guide, MA0x-0920-C7B-GA part numbers are the rest-of-world model without Band 48, while the US and Canada model is MA0x-0920-C7A-NA, so confirm the variant before ordering for a CBRS network.[2]

Documents

Vendor

Sources

Researched Oct 1, 2026. Manufacturer and vendor statements are their claims, not independent tests.

  1. Ericsson Cradlepoint R920 — Ericsson. Accessed Oct 1, 2026.
  2. Ericsson Cradlepoint R920 data sheet — Ericsson, Jul 23, 2026. Accessed Oct 1, 2026.
  3. OnGo Certified Devices — OnGo Alliance. Accessed Oct 1, 2026.
  4. FCC-Authorized End User Devices — OnGo Alliance. Accessed Oct 1, 2026.
  5. Cradlepoint R920: Rugged CBRS-Ready Mobile and IoT Router — Waveform. Accessed Oct 1, 2026.

Every detail in the table at the top comes from these sources. Open the source details for each fact’s publisher, evidence type, date, and where it appears.

Source details (5)
SOURCEAvailability

contact to purchase (manufacturer does not allow online sale)

Waveform ↗Retailer listingLocation in source: Purchase boxChecked Sep 30, 2026Source date: not stated