Equipment record

AirLink® RX400 5G RedCap Router

Gateway / router from Semtech (formerly Sierra Wireless); details below are as stated by the manufacturer.

Reviewed Sep 30, 20265 sourced facts
Work at Semtech (formerly Sierra Wireless)? Suggest a correction
AirLink® RX400 5G RedCap Router product photo
Image: Semtech (formerly Sierra Wireless)

Details

Exact model
AirLink® RX400 (1105304 RX400; 1105305 RX400 with Wi-Fi)
Category
Gateway / router
Technology / network scope
4G LTE5G NR5G RedCap + LTE Cat-4
Bands
CBRS 3.55–3.703.43.63.8GHzPrivate networking including Anterix / CBRS · Anterix Active (B106)
Documented uses
Remote and utility sites
Not stated by sources
Environment · Availability

Work at Semtech (formerly Sierra Wireless)?

Send a correction for this product. Official photos and datasheets are welcome by email. Use your company email and confirm it, and you’re reviewed first.

Suggest a correction

Anyone can send a correction; we check each one against its sources.

Overview

The Semtech AirLink RX400 is a compact, rugged 5G RedCap (reduced capability) router for remote fixed assets such as utility, oil and gas, SCADA and metering sites, in an IP64-rated aluminum housing.[1][2] RedCap trades peak speed for lower power and fewer antennas: the RX400 uses two antenna elements, falls back to LTE Category 4, and Semtech quotes power consumption under 1 W for solar- or battery-powered sites.[2] Its band table includes LTE Band 48 and 5G n48 used for CBRS (Citizens Broadband Radio Service), though CBRS is not among the certifications Semtech lists.[2]

Specifications

Cellular

Radio
2x2 5G RedCap with LTE Category 4 fallback; chipset and 3GPP release not publicly stated[1][2]
5G NR bands
Includes n48, n41, n70, n71, n77, n78 and n79, plus low-band n5, n12 and n14[2]
LTE bands
Includes Band 48, B2, B4, B12, B13, B14, B66, B71 and B106[2]
Peak rates (theoretical)
226 Mbps down and 120 Mbps up[2]
Connectors and SIM
SMA cellular connectors; dual nano (4FF) SIM slots[2]
Part numbers
1105304 RX400; 1105305 RX400 with Wi-Fi[2]

Interfaces

Ethernet
One Gigabit Ethernet port[2]
Wi-Fi
Optional single 1x1 Wi-Fi 6, dual band, 600 Mbps theoretical, 16 clients[2]
Serial, I/O and USB
Single or dual RS-232, one GPIO and a USB-C port with Power Delivery[2]
GNSS
Dual-band GNSS[2]

Physical and environmental

Size and weight
117.3 x 33 x 85 mm (4.62 x 1.30 x 3.35 in) before SMA connectors; 350.5 g with Wi-Fi; same bolt pattern as Semtech's RV routers[2]
Ingress and temperature
IP64; -40 °C to 70 °C (-40 °F to 158 °F) operating[2]
Ruggedness and hazardous-location ratings
ISO 7637-2 and SAE J1455; MIL-STD-810H and E-Mark listed as planned; Class 1 Division 2, IECEx and ATEX; EN 50155 and EN 45545 rolling stock[2]

Power

Input and consumption
7–36 VDC with a redundant 15 W USB-C input, ignition sense and load-dump protection; 756 mW idle with serial enabled; 24 mW standby[2]

Certifications

Regulatory and carriers
FCC, ISED, PTCRB, GCF, CE, RED and RCM; AT&T, Verizon and T-Mobile, with Telus, Rogers, Bell and Telstra planned[2]
Public safety and private networks
FirstNet Capable; Anterix Active (Band 106)[2]
FCC ID
Not listed on Semtech's product page or data sheet[2]
OnGo listings
We did not find the RX400 on the OnGo Alliance's certified-device list or its list of FCC-authorized Band 48 end-user devices (checked October 1, 2026)[3][4]

Management and performance

Management
AirLink OS with ALMS cloud management through AirLink Complete (one year included); on-premises AirLink Manager or Mobility Manager as paid options[2]
Throughput and VPN
Firewall throughput not stated; FIPS 140-2 Level 1 compliant IPsec, up to 10 tunnels per link[2]
Edge computing
Dual-core Arm Cortex-A55; about 600 MB RAM and 500 MB flash available to Docker containers (early adopters)[2]
Warranty and updates
One-year standard warranty, extended up to five years with an active subscription; critical firmware updates through at least December 31, 2030[2]

What’s included

  • RX400 router, DC power cable, quick start guide and AirLink Complete leaflet[2]

Public pricing

  • Semtech does not publish a list price on its product page or data sheet; one year of AirLink Complete is included with purchase (checked October 1, 2026).[2]

Documents

Vendor

Sources

Researched Oct 1, 2026. Manufacturer and vendor statements are their claims, not independent tests.

  1. AirLink RX400 5G RedCap Router — Semtech. Accessed Oct 1, 2026.
  2. AirLink RX400 data sheet — Semtech, Jul 27, 2026. Accessed Oct 1, 2026.
  3. OnGo Certified Devices — OnGo Alliance. Accessed Oct 1, 2026.
  4. FCC-Authorized End User Devices — OnGo Alliance. Accessed Oct 1, 2026.

Every detail in the table at the top comes from these sources. Open the source details for each fact’s publisher, evidence type, date, and where it appears.

Source details (5)