Equipment record

Semtech XR80 Modular 5G Router

Sold by Waveform. Gateway / router from Semtech; details below are as stated by the seller.

Reviewed Sep 30, 20266 sourced factsSold by Waveform · affiliated company
Work at Semtech (formerly Sierra Wireless)? Suggest a correction
Semtech XR80 Modular 5G Router product photo
Image: Waveform

Details

Exact model
AirLink XR80
Category
Gateway / router
Technology / network scope
4G LTE5G NR5G (this variant); LTE Cat 20 model also offered
Bands
CBRS 3.55–3.703.43.63.8GHzCBRS Band 48; LTE and 5G Sub-6 GHz bands including n77, n78, n79
Availability
Order online · Ships in 1–2 weeksOrder from Waveform
Documented uses
Manufacturing and industrial IoT · Remote and utility sites
Not stated by sources
Environment

Work at Semtech (formerly Sierra Wireless)?

Send a correction for this product. Official photos and datasheets are welcome by email. Use your company email and confirm it, and you’re reviewed first.

Suggest a correction

Anyone can send a correction; we check each one against its sources.

Overview

The Semtech AirLink XR80 is a rugged, modular router for both vehicles and fixed sites, such as public-safety and field-service fleets, fixed wireless access and SCADA, in a sealed IP64-rated aluminum housing.[1][2] It ships as an LTE Category 20, 5G Gen1 or 5G Gen2 model, with or without 5x4 MU-MIMO Wi-Fi 6, and an expansion cartridge adds a second 5G radio.[2] Semtech lists CBRS (Citizens Broadband Radio Service) among the North American model's carrier certifications, and its band table includes LTE Band 48 and 5G n48.[2]

Specifications

Cellular

Variants and peak rates (theoretical)
LTE Category 20: 2 Gbps down / 210 Mbps up; 5G Gen1: 4.14 Gbps / 660 Mbps; 5G Gen2: 4.5 Gbps / 900 Mbps[2]
Additional radios
Optional XP 5G cartridge (Gen1 or Gen2) adds a second 5G radio; an LPWA radio provides out-of-band management[2]
5G modes and bands
5G SA and NSA on 5G models; the band table includes n48, n41, n77, n78 and n79, with some bands such as n70 and n75 on Gen2 models only[2]
LTE bands
Includes Band 48, B2, B4, B12, B13, B14, B41, B66 and B71[2]
MIMO, connectors and SIM
4x4 MIMO on FAKRA connectors; dual mini (2FF) SIM slots[2]
Part numbers (North America)
LTE: 1104881 base, 1104879 Wi-Fi; 5G Gen1: 1104793 base, 1104789 Wi-Fi; 5G Gen2: 1105223 base, 1105213 Wi-Fi[2]
Not publicly stated
Modem chipset and 3GPP release

Interfaces

Ethernet
Two Gigabit ports and one 5 Gigabit port; dual-5G configurations add a Gigabit port[1][2]
Wi-Fi
Wi-Fi 6 with 5x4 MU-MIMO on Wi-Fi models, 2,400 Mbps theoretical, up to 128 clients per radio[2]
Vehicle and serial I/O
Single or dual RS-232 (DB9, optional cables), CAN bus with OBD-II and J1939, five GPIO and USB-C (USB 3.1)[2]
GNSS
48-channel GNSS with dead reckoning[2]

Physical and environmental

Size and weight
220 x 170 x 53 mm; 1.80 kg without Wi-Fi or 2.00 kg with Wi-Fi; 220 x 220 x 53 mm and 2.64 kg with the 5G expansion cartridge[2]
Ingress and temperature
IP64; -30 °C to 70 °C (-22 °F to 158 °F) operating[2]
Vehicle, rail and hazardous-location ratings
MIL-STD-810G; E-Mark, ISO 7637-2 and SAE J1455; EN 50155 and EN 45545 rolling stock; Class 1 Division 2[2]

Power

Input and consumption
7–36 VDC with ignition sense and load-dump protection; 54 W peak; 55 mW standby[2]

Certifications

Regulatory and carriers (North America)
FCC, ISED and PTCRB; AT&T, T-Mobile and Verizon, plus CBRS and C-Band; Rogers, Telus and Bell also listed[2]
Public safety
LTE model: FirstNet Capable; 5G Gen1: FirstNet Trusted; 5G Gen2: FirstNet Trusted, Verizon Frontline and T-Priority[2]
FCC ID
Not listed on Semtech's product page or data sheet[2]
OnGo listings
We did not find the XR80 on the OnGo Alliance's certified-device list or its list of FCC-authorized Band 48 end-user devices (checked October 1, 2026)[3][4]

Management and performance

Management
AirLink OS with ALMS cloud management, a local web interface and a beta REST API; one year of AirLink Complete included[2]
Rated throughput and VPN
1,150 Mbps firewall TCP; 350 Mbps IPsec VPN TCP; FIPS 140-2 Level 1 compliant IPsec, up to 10 tunnels per link[2]
Edge computing
Quad-core 64-bit ARMv8; about 200 MB RAM and 750 MB flash available to containers (early adopters)[2]
Warranty and updates
One-year standard warranty, extended up to five years with an active subscription; critical firmware updates through at least December 31, 2029[2]

What’s included

  • XR80 router, DC power cable, LPWA antenna, quick start guide and AirLink Complete leaflet[2]

Public pricing

  • Semtech does not publish a list price on its product page or data sheet; one year of AirLink Complete is included with purchase (checked October 1, 2026).[2]
  • Waveform, operated by the team behind Private5G.com, lists part number 1104789 (5G Gen1 with Wi-Fi, North America) at $1,799.00 as of October 1, 2026.[5]

Documents

Vendor

Sources

Researched Oct 1, 2026. Manufacturer and vendor statements are their claims, not independent tests.

  1. AirLink XR80 5G LTE Router for Fixed and Mobile Applications — Semtech. Accessed Oct 1, 2026.
  2. AirLink XR80 data sheet — Semtech, Mar 25, 2026. Accessed Oct 1, 2026.
  3. OnGo Certified Devices — OnGo Alliance. Accessed Oct 1, 2026.
  4. FCC-Authorized End User Devices — OnGo Alliance. Accessed Oct 1, 2026.
  5. Semtech XR80 Modular 5G Router — Waveform. Accessed Oct 1, 2026.

Every detail in the table at the top comes from these sources. Open the source details for each fact’s publisher, evidence type, date, and where it appears.

Source details (6)