Equipment record

AirLink® XR90 – High-Performance Dual 5G Vehicle Router

Gateway / router from Semtech (formerly Sierra Wireless); details below are as stated by the manufacturer.

Reviewed Sep 30, 20265 sourced factsSold by Waveform · affiliated company
Work at Semtech (formerly Sierra Wireless)? Suggest a correction
Semtech XR90: High-Performance 5G CBRS Router product photo
Image: Waveform

Details

Exact model
AirLink® XR90
Category
Gateway / router
Technology / network scope
4G LTE5G NR5G (single 5G Gen1 or dual 5G)
Bands
CBRS 3.55–3.703.43.63.8GHzCBRS listed under carrier certification · n48 listed in the 5G (SA & NSA) row and B48 in the 4G LTE row of the frequency band table
Availability
Order online · Ships in 1–2 weeksOrder from Waveform
Not stated by sources
Environment

Work at Semtech (formerly Sierra Wireless)?

Send a correction for this product. Official photos and datasheets are welcome by email. Use your company email and confirm it, and you’re reviewed first.

Suggest a correction

Anyone can send a correction; we check each one against its sources.

Overview

The Semtech AirLink XR90 is a rugged vehicle router for public-safety, transit and rail fleets, available with one 5G radio or two 5G radios and two independent 4x4 Wi-Fi 6 radios in a sealed, IP64-rated die-cast aluminum housing.[1][2] A cartridge design adds the second 5G radio, and a low-power LPWA radio keeps an out-of-band management link to Semtech's AirLink Management Service (ALMS).[2] Semtech lists CBRS (Citizens Broadband Radio Service) among the North American model's carrier certifications, and its band table includes LTE Band 48 and 5G n48.[2]

Specifications

Cellular

Radios
Single 5G (Gen1) or dual 5G (Gen1 and Gen2) through an XP 5G expansion cartridge, plus an LPWA radio for out-of-band management[2]
5G modes and bands
5G SA and NSA; the band table includes n48, n41, n77, n78 and n79 alongside low-band n5, n12 and n71[2]
LTE bands
Includes Band 48, B2, B4, B12, B13, B14, B41, B66 and B71[2]
Peak rates (theoretical)
5G Gen1: 4.14 Gbps down / 660 Mbps up; 5G Gen2: 4.5 Gbps down / 900 Mbps up[2]
MIMO, connectors and SIM
4x4 MIMO on FAKRA connectors; dual mini (2FF) SIM slots[2]
Part numbers (North America)
1104785 single 5G Gen1; 1104786 dual 5G Gen1; 1105218 dual 5G Gen2[2]
Not publicly stated
Modem chipset and 3GPP release

Interfaces

Ethernet
Single 5G: three Gigabit and one 5 Gigabit port; dual 5G: four Gigabit and one 5 Gigabit port[2]
Wi-Fi
Two independent 4x4 MU-MIMO Wi-Fi 6 radios, 2,400 Mbps theoretical peak, up to 128 clients per radio[2]
Vehicle and serial I/O
Single or dual RS-232 (DB9, optional cables), CAN bus with OBD-II and J1939, five GPIO and USB-C (USB 3.1)[2]
GNSS
48-channel GNSS with dead reckoning[2]

Physical and environmental

Size and weight
Main body 220 x 170 x 53 mm and 2.06 kg; with one expansion cartridge 220 x 220 x 53 mm and 2.64 kg; with two, 268 x 220 x 53 mm and 3.22 kg[2]
Ingress and temperature
IP64; -30 °C to 70 °C (-22 °F to 158 °F) operating[2]
Vehicle, rail and hazardous-location ratings
MIL-STD-810G; E-Mark, ISO 7637-2 and SAE J1455; EN 50155 and EN 45545 rolling stock; Class 1 Division 2, IECEx and ATEX[2]

Power

Input and consumption
7–36 VDC with ignition sense, engine-cranking and +200 VDC load-dump protection; dual-5G peak 68 W; 55 mW standby[2]

Certifications

Regulatory and carriers (North America)
FCC, ISED and PTCRB; AT&T, T-Mobile and Verizon, plus CBRS and C-Band; Rogers, Telus and Bell are listed as in progress for Gen2 models[2]
Public safety
FirstNet Trusted (requires ALMS management); T-Priority and Verizon Frontline on Gen2 models[2]
FCC ID
Not listed on Semtech's product page or data sheet[2]
OnGo listings
We did not find the XR90 on the OnGo Alliance's certified-device list or its list of FCC-authorized Band 48 end-user devices (checked October 1, 2026)[3][4]

Management and performance

Management
AirLink OS with ALMS cloud management, a local web interface and a beta REST API; a one-year AirLink Premium subscription is included[2]
Rated throughput and VPN
1,150 Mbps firewall TCP; 350 Mbps IPsec VPN TCP; IPsec IKEv1/IKEv2, FIPS 140-2 Level 1 compliant, up to 10 tunnels per link[2]
Edge computing
Quad-core 64-bit ARMv8; about 200 MB RAM and 750 MB flash available to containers (early adopters)[2]
Warranty and updates
One-year standard warranty, extendable to five years with an active AirLink Premium subscription; critical firmware updates through at least December 31, 2029[2]

What’s included

  • XR90 router, DC power cable, LPWA antenna, quick start guide and AirLink Premium leaflet[2]

Public pricing

  • Semtech does not publish a list price on its product page or data sheet; a one-year AirLink Premium subscription is included with purchase (checked October 1, 2026).[1][2]
  • Waveform, operated by the team behind Private5G.com, lists part number 1104786 (dual 5G Gen1, North America) at $2,899.00 as of October 1, 2026.[5]

Documents

Vendor

Sources

Researched Oct 1, 2026. Manufacturer and vendor statements are their claims, not independent tests.

  1. AirLink XR90 – High-Performance Dual 5G Vehicle Router — Semtech. Accessed Oct 1, 2026.
  2. AirLink XR90 data sheet — Semtech, Mar 25, 2026. Accessed Oct 1, 2026.
  3. OnGo Certified Devices — OnGo Alliance. Accessed Oct 1, 2026.
  4. FCC-Authorized End User Devices — OnGo Alliance. Accessed Oct 1, 2026.
  5. Semtech XR90: High-Performance 5G CBRS Router — Waveform. Accessed Oct 1, 2026.

Every detail in the table at the top comes from these sources. Open the source details for each fact’s publisher, evidence type, date, and where it appears.

Source details (5)